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APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 
MANUFACTURED HOME RETAILER  

 
ADDITIONAL LOT/OUT OF STATE 

 
Required information for an additional lot location 
• Completed Manufactured Home Retailer Application 
 

• Certificate of Insurance (w/ Office of Housing as Certificate Holder) 
 

• Copy of Certified Installer Card or Certified Manager for the lot location 
      (Installer must be an employee of dealership pursuant to Manufactured Home Regulations 
       NO CONTRACTORS) 
 

• Copy of Kentucky Sales & Usage Tax Permit 
 

• Copy of Lease or Copy of Deed 
 

• List of who filled out application with their social security #, and a home phone # 
 

• General Manager & Service Manager’s Name 
 

• FEE SEE PRO-RATED CHART ENCLOSED (AFTER INITIAL APPLICATION RENEWAL FEE WILL BE 
$250.00) Payment Option Page enclosed. 

 
Required information for Out-of-State Manufactured Home Retailers 
• Completed Manufactured Home Retailer Application 
 

• Certificate of Insurance (see enclosure) w/ Office of Housing as a Certificate Holder) 
 

• Copy of Certified Installer Card or Certified Manager for the lot location 
      (Installer must be an employee of dealership pursuant to Manufactured Home Regulations 
       NO CONTRACTORS) 
 

• Copy of Kentucky Sales & Usage Tax Permit 
 

• Copy of Lease or Copy of Deed 
 

• Copy of your state’s Manufactured Home Retailer License 
 

• List of who filled out application with their social security #, and a home phone # 
 

• General Manager & Service Manager’s Name 
 

• See pro-rated chart enclosed (after initial application renewal fee will be $250.00) Payment Option Page enclosed) 
 
 
HBC #40-18 (a) 

 



DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING, BUILDING & CONSTRUCTION 
MANUFACTURED HOUSING SECTION 

101 SEA HERO ROAD, SUITE 100 
FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY 40601-5405 

(502) 573-1795   FAX (502)573-1059 
 

Application for Manufactured Home Retailer’s License 
Additional Lot/ Out of State 

 
This application must be completed in detail and typewritten.  No application will be reviewed unless the instructions 
herein are complied with.  All statements made in this application are subject to the penalties of perjury as set forth in the 
certificate at the end of the application. 
 

Applicant, as used in this application, means an individual operating in his/her name or under an authorized assumed 
name; two or more partners operating as a partnership or under an authorized assumed name; the officers and directors of 
the corporation operating under the corporate name or authorized assumed name, and any person with an ownership 
interest in the proposed business.  The Manufactured Home Certification and Licensure Board must approve this 
application. 
 

All licenses, unless renewed, revoked or suspended shall expire on the birth month of the principle owner or the month of 
incorporation (whichever applies). The initial license fee shall be prorated (see chart enclosed). Upon renewal the fee 
will be $250.00 annually. 
 

1.  Check Each Type of Home Sales Applicable: 
 

New Manufactured Homes   _____ 
Pre-Owned Manufactured Homes  _____ 
Mobile Homes (built prior to 1976)  _____ 
Salvage Units (“B2" Seal)   _____ 

 

2.  Revenue Cabinet Sales Tax Permit Number ___________ Fed Tax ID Number ___________ 
     A copy of Kentucky Sales Tax permit must accompany application. 
 

3.  Give Name of Retailer_________________________________________________________ 
     Corporate Name if applicable____________________________________________________ 
 

(A) All applicants (sole proprietors, corporations, partnerships, etc. wishing to operate under an assumed name 
must attach a copy of an Assumed Name Certificate which can be obtained from the Secretary of State, along 
with proof of filing with the Secretary of State and county clerk. 

(B) All corporations must furnish a copy of the Articles of Incorporation, along with proof of filing with the 
Secretary of State. 

 

4. Credit Report- Obtain from Credit Agency.  Persons needing to complete this information are: Sole Proprietors, 
General Partners in a Partnership and all Officers and Directors of a Corporation listed below: 

 

5. Address of established place of business, as defined in KRS 227.550(5) and the applicable  
       rules and regulations.  (The mailing address and the actual address of the business must be  
       the same).  For mailing purposes, you may add a post office box number 
Address________________________________________City______________Zip___________ 
County____________________ Business Telephone #__________________________________ 
Fax #_________________________ Email address:  ___________________________________ 
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1. Name of owner or partners (all). Owners, partners, or corporate officers indicate percent of business owned.  The 
owners must equal 100%.  If additional space is required, attach separate sheet. 
______________________ _____%          ______________ _____%     
______________________ _____%          ______________ _____%     

 

7. Do you own the property occupied by the proposed retailer? ____Yes _____No 
If the property is not owned by the retailer, a copy of the lease must be attached to this application. The lease must 
reveal the name(s) and address(s) of the lessee and the lessor.  If the property is owned a copy of the deed or an 
affidavit stating that you own the property must be attached. 

     
8.  Has the above described property been previously utilized as a manufactured/mobile home    
     retailer, and if so under what name_____________________________________ 
 
9.  Dimensions of display/storage center _______________________ 
     Dimensions of office    _______________________ 
 
10. Is any other business operated on or from this location?  _____Yes         _____No 
      If yes, give nature of business___________________________________________________ 
      Business name and owner(s) name________________________________________________ 
 

11. Effective January 1,1998, each Manufactured and Mobile Home Retailer shall obtain at least one (1) person who 
has successfully completed the approved requirements dealing with the installation of manufactured homes.  The 
certified installer/ certified manager must be an employee (not a contractor) as per 815 KAR25:060 Section 
4(1). 

 
12. Certified Installer Name (on staff) ______________________ Certification # __________ 

Certified Manager/Owner _____________________________ Certification # _________ 
 

13.  Description of Service 
A.  Do you plan to perform your own: 

___ Service    ___ Maintenance (warranty work) 
___ Installation/set-up  ___ Transportation of homes 

If so, briefly describe how this will be performed ________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Name of Employees: _______________________________Years of Experience _____ 
         _______________________________              _____ 

           _______________________________              _____ 
 

B.  Do you plan to engage independent contractors to perform: 
___ Service   ___ Maintenance (warranty work) 
___ Installation/set-up ___ Transportation of homes 

If you plan to contract any of the above, please provide a letter of agreement attached to  
this application for each independent contractor used.  The letter of agreement shall    
include the contractor’s company name, its principals, address and telephone number and   
any other type and number of any business or certifications that such contractors hold.    
(Change of contractor(s) or changes in a letter of agreement must be submitted to this   
office with the effective date of the change(s). 
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THIS SECTION MUST BE INITIALED: 
 
______ (Initial) I am not in default of any student loans backed by the KHESS (Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority).  I 
understand that if I am in default of any student loans backed by KHEAA, I cannot receive a Kentucky Retailers License at this time. 
 
______ (Initial) I confirm that all information contained in and submitted with this application is current and true to the best of my 
knowledge. 
 
Signature of Applicant: _______________________________________________DATE: ___________ 
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CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 
 

The retailer shall furnish and maintain with the Office a Certificate of Insurance to certify proof of general liability 
insurance.  
 

The general liability insurance shall be in the minimum amount of: 

•  $200,000 for bodily injury or death for each person 

•  $300,000 bodily injury or death for each accident  

•  $100,000 for damage to property 
 

Should any policy be cancelled before the expiration date thereof, the issuing company will endeavor to mail 
thirty (30) days written notice to the certificate holder. The certificate holder on the dealership’s Certificate of Insurance 
shall be: 

 

Department of Housing, Building and Construction 
Manufactured Housing Section 
101 Sea Hero Road, Suite 100 

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-5405 
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CERTIFICATE TO DO BUSINESS UNDER ASSUMED NAME 
KRS 227.550 et al 

 
File with county clerk,  if corporation, obtain required form from Secretary of State, and file with Secretary of State and county clerk. 
 
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: 
This certifies that the business to be known as _________________________________________________ 

             (Name of Manufactured Home Retailer) 

 
________________________________________________________ located in _______________County, 
                                           (Address of retailer) 

 
Commonwealth of Kentucky, is owned and operated by _________________________________________ 

                     (Name of Owner(s)) 

 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

(Address of Owner(s)) 

 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature & Title of Owner(s) 
 
 
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY 
 
COUNTY OF ____________________ 
 
 
I, __________________________________, Notary Public in and for the State and County indicated above, do certify that the 
foregoing instrument of writing was this date presented to me by ____________________________, who delivered, signed and 
acknowledged same to be (his/her) act and deed. 
 

Witness my hand and seal this _______ day of __________________, 20_____. 
My Commission Expires ______________________________ 

 
_________________________   ________________________ 
County Clerk      Notary Public 
 
_________________________ 
Date of Filing       
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 


